New directors for Murray Dairy

By Dairy News

MURRAY DAIRY has nominated two new board members, with chair Rick Cross and director Greg Ault to step down at the organisation’s annual general meeting in October.

Lachlan Marshall from Blighty and Rochester’s Tom Acocks will take up three-year terms as farmer representatives alongside existing directors Karen Moroney, Tony McCarthy and Andrew Tyler.

Service provider Andrew Mann has been re-nominated after completing his co-opted term.

Mr Mann, who represents the banking sector, will sit alongside other service providers Chris Thomas and Mark Bailey.

Mr Acocks and Mr Marshall bring a new perspective to the board, with experience in strategic business planning, knowledge of the global dairying environment and an interest in technology and innovation.

Mr Marshall is managing director of family business Yurunga Farms Partnership, which comprises of nine companies across the supply chain.

He has been in management in the dairy industry for more than 18 years, commencing in south-east Queensland and later moving to southern NSW.

Mr Acocks is a partner in his family’s business and his focus is also on continual improvement and business development.

He has been involved in working groups across the supply chain and in advocacy that reflect his interests. He was a member of the Australian Dairy Conference Programming Committee in 2013–14 and chair in 2016.

Mr Acocks holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science from the University of Melbourne, and has completed a number of internationally recognised courses across different aspects of business management and leadership development.

He also spent three years working in agricultural businesses in Europe and North America.

Mr Ault, who was on the selection committee, said Mr Marshall and Mr Acocks demonstrated experience in strategic planning, business management and an interest in industry innovation that would support Murray Dairy as it looked towards the future.