Dairy News

Five young people headed to Europe

By Geoff Adams

The first ever Australian team has been chosen to compete at the European Young Breeders School in Belgium in August.

The five team members are Brady Hore from Leitchville, Victoria, Julia Paulger from Kenilworth Queensland, Ricky Nelson from Irrewillipe, Victoria, Sam Hall from Australind, Western Australia and Zoe Hayes from Girgarre, Victoria.

Holstein Australia, Jersey Australia and The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria made the announcement in May.

The team members were selected after a rigorous application and interview process, from five dairying regions across three states and represent a number of dairy breeds.

The team reserve is Alexander Crawford from Daltons Bridge, Victoria, and the team will be led by Justin Johnston of Glomar Holsteins.

Team leader, Justin Johnston, said this was something he’s wanted to get off the ground for a while, and with the backing of Jersey Australia, The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria and Holstein Australia, as well as other industry partners, it has been made possible.